What I just sent to my Senator

I’m home sick from work on a gorgeous Northwestern Spring day (I can hear lawnmowers for miles around as the grass is growing taller by the minute and I can practically hear the rhododendrons opening larger and larger) and of all of the many actions I want to take to inform my elected officials that the world is going to hell in a handbasket, the one action I took is this one: I let my senator (Patty Murray, D-WA, who sits on the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions, where the bill will next be heard) know that I want height and weight added to theĀ The Safe Schools Improvement Act of 2010.

Currently, although it’s a great bill in many respects, the legislation does NOT include weight and height as part of its anti-bullying protections. I can’t fathom why, as multiple studies have shown that fatness makes children a target for bullying. I was certainly singled out for being chronically bullied in elementary school because of both being shorter and fatter than the other kids.

So, with all of the things I care about, why did I take action on this one? In part, it’s because my senator sits on the committee. I know we are “aligned” on many issues (such as women’s health, abortion and family planning) but I don’t know if this is on her radar.

If you want to take action, too, here’s the legislative alert from NAAFA that gives you the info you will need.

I’m going to go water some plants, let the puppy run around (and the girl) and hopefully, not get any sicker. And now that I’ve taken this step, I’ll think about what others I want to take.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What I just sent to my Senator

  1. deeleigh

    That’s wonderful. It’s something we should all be taking action on.

  2. Woof! You go, Girl!!!!

Leave a Reply

