Activism for MLK Day

As I’ve grown ever more frustrated with the budget cuts proposed in my state (Washington), I haven’t know exactly how to express my views.

Instead of volunteering on Martin Luther King Day, I’m going to attend an all-day activism event. This one. I volunteer nearly every week — this is something I that I don’t do all of the time.

I’m grateful to have the day off of work so I can do this. I’m looking forward to talking with my legislators. I’m going to bring my little girl along. I’m anticipating it will be an energizing day.

When I was young, my parents brought me with them on the picket line, and to marches for political causes, such a fair housing or the equal rights amendment. I want my girl to have similar experiences, to go out of her comfort zone, to meet new people and figure out what she thinks of all of this. It won’t be her first experience, but she largely slept through the last one, which was a march in favor of health care for all.

I don’t delude myself into thinking that what I’m doing has anywhere near the significance of the Selma to Montgomery March for voting rights, but I’m inspired by the words of Rabbi Abraham Joshua Heschel, who walked arm in arm with Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. in 1965, and wrote this about it afterwards:

For many of us the march from Selma to Montgomery was about protest and prayer. Legs are not lips and walking is not kneeling. And yet our legs uttered songs. Even without words, our march was worship. I felt my legs were praying.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Activism for MLK Day

  1. Rock on! So cool that you’re bringing your girl with you. There doesn’t seem to be enough demonstrations these days. Wish I could participate in something I’m passionate about. Thanks for this.

  2. Thanks! I’ll report back how it goes.
    It will be wet, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

